Electronic Ballot for STCHPS 2019 Election of Officers

Deadline: March ???, 2019

You are allowed to vote only once. The electronic voting system counts the votes and records whether a member has voted already. It does not allow to trace individual votes.

Biographies can be found below the ballot on this page. Please scroll down!

Last Name:

2019 STCHPS Officer Nominations


Matthew Amen, BS in Environmental Biology

Matthew Amen is with the Office of Safety and Business Continuity at UT Southwestern (UTSW) Medical Center located in Dallas. He has over twenty years of experience in radiologic health physics activities. Matthew is currently the Radiation Safety Officer for UTSW’s Broad scope license, which includes two hospitals, an affiliated County hospital and a Children’s hospital.  Matthew also oversees the use of radioactive materials use in UTSW’s research endeavors and supports two specific licenses for cyclotron radioisotope production and GammaKnife therapies. Matthew has been a member of the HPS since 1999 and a STC-HPS member since 2000. He is currently working on a dual Master’s degree in Business Administration and Health Care Administration at Texas Woman’s University. 



Erich Fruchtnicht, MS in Health Physics

Erich is RSO at the Texas A&M Health Science Center and Assistant RSO at Texas A&M. He holds a B.S. in Nuclear Engineering and M.S. in Health Physics from Texas A&M. Erich has 17 years’ experience in environmental and occupational radiation safety, protection and research, and professional instruction and lecturing. Erich is a member of the Board of Directors for the State of Texas Health Physics Society, Chair of the Taskforce for the CSHEMA Safety Advancement Program (CSAP), and a member of the National HPS, Sigma XI, and MENSA.


Board Member

Otu Inyang, MS in Health Physics

Otu Inyang currently serves as Safety Manager, Radiation Safety Officer and Laser Safety Officer at the University of Houston (UH). He directs programs involving radioactive materials, x-rays, lasers, and jointly oversees laboratory and chemical safety programs. He also manages the department’s data management software- EH&S Assistant. He joined UH as Safety Specialist in 2007 and was promoted to Radiation Safety Manger in 2009. Otu was a Graduate Research Assistant and Health Physicist at the Nuclear Science Center of Texas A&M University, a teaching and nuclear research and training facility which provides radioisotope and other nuclear irradiation services for research, academic, medical and industrial applications. His educational background includes a B.Sc. (Hons) in Physics, from the University of Calabar, Nigeria in 1995, after which he received a Post Graduate Diploma in Management (PGDM) and an M.B.A. in Business Administration from same institution. He also holds an MS degree in Health Physics from Texas A& M University, College Station, and is currently working on a DrPH degree in Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences at the UT Health School of Public Health. Otu is a Certified Safety Professional (CSP), a Certified Hazardous Materials Manager (CHMM) and a Certified Laser Safety Officer (CLSO). Otu strongly advocates for collaborative strategic partnerships with researchers to advance cutting edge research in a safe and compliant manner.


Doug Johnson, MS in Nuclear Engineering

Doug has been an active member of the HPS-STC since 1986 and is currently a Licensed Medical Physicist for Baylor Scott & White Health. He is or has been an RSO for several medical and industrial licenses and registrations, a federal nuclear auditor, a license inspector for Texas, general manager for the National Center for Electron Beam Research and an Associate Director of the Integrated Ocean Drilling Program. Doug also worked as a radiation consultant in strategic weapons, mining, and laser induced fusion. He is retired from the Navy Reserve and was involved in radiological activities in the U.S., Asia, Europe and the Middle East. He was a member of the National ANSI for laser safety, Vice Chair of the Texas Board of Medical Physicists and on an advisory committee to the Texas Medical Board. He has an MS in Nuclear Engineering, Texas A&M University and BS in Radiation Protection (Nuclear Engineering Dept.), University of Florida.


[Back to top]