Accelerator Radiation Safety Newsletter

(all articles are to be considered personal/professional in nature and do not reflect the opinions of the institutions described unless otherwise stated)

An Official Publication of the

Health Physics Society's Accelerator Section

Circulation: 475

Second Quarter 2013 /
Volume 22, Number 2



Jason Harris, Idaho State University

Steven Frey

Past President:
Mike Sandvig, Idaho National Lab

Johannes Bauer, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Newsletter Editor: 
Scott Schwahn, Oak Ridge National Laboratory 

H.F. (Henry) Kahnhauser (2014), Brookhaven National Laboratory 
George Kharashvili (2014), Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility 

Melissa Mannion (2015), Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory 
Robert May (2015), Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility  

Don Cossairt (2016), Fermilab
Reginald Ronningen (2016), National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory

• Accelerator Section Website
• HPS Website
The Editor’s Message

Scott Schwahn


Again, Dr. Day submits an excellent article. This one is on the use of self-shielding in the process of taking credit for shielding on new beamline components. In these tough economic times, we could all use a reminder that new components need not simply be new source terms – the most conservative approach – but they can also provide some of their own shielding.


Though we now have a new President (see the names of officers to the right), I refer below to an article from the President and the “Past-Past-President;” this quirk is simply due to the timing of this newsletter. I’m guessing that you all can manage the inconsistency. Call it a communication training exercise!


Enjoy –


The President’s Message

Michael Sandvig


I am pleased to announce the names of our new officers, voted in by Accelerator Section members and affirmed at the annual meeting. Thanks are also due to the other candidates for making this election a fair challenge. Our new President-Elect is Steve Frey, and our new Board members are Don Cossairt and Reginald Ronningen. I would also like to thank our outgoing Officers and Board members for their service: Rich Brey, Louise Buker, Eric Burgett, and Lorraine Marceau-Day. Thanks also go to the Nominating Committee: Sam Baker, Kamran Vaziri, and Mike Duran.


I am excited to announce our Section’s plans to contribute to a Special Edition of Health Physics dedicated to accelerators. We are merely in the planning stages, with no formal arrangement yet made. We need your help – even in the planning.

What do you want the Special Edition to look like?


Do you want it to be on a particular aspect of accelerator health physics? On one facility in particular, along the lines of the recent edition on the National Ignition Facility? Perhaps a variety of articles from different facilities on whatever they find to be interesting? 


Let us know… please send your thoughts on the overall concept, or even a title for an article that you might be willing to contribute to Jason Harris, who will be leading the effort.


Thanks –

The “Past-Past-President’s” Message

Michael Grissom


Report from the 2013 Health Physics Society Mid-Year Topical Meeting


The Health Physics Society’s (HPS) Accelerator and Medical HP Sections as well as the Arizona Joint HPS/AAPM Chapter jointly supported the 2013 Health Physics Society Mid-Year Topical Meeting in Scottsdale, Arizona. The theme “Medical Health Physics and Accelerator Dosimetry” focused on many of the issues that most impact the HPS medical communities (including accelerators). A special effort was made to have members of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) actively participate in planning and presentations at the meeting. My hat goes off for the Mayo Clinic Arizona staff medical physicists and other staff members who did yeoman work in supporting the meeting. Between the 3 sponsoring organizations in the HPS and the co-sponsorship of the AAPM, we were able to have approximately 300 registrants at the meeting.

(More here)


News from the Center for Advanced Microstructures & Devices (CAMD)
Lorraine Marceau-Day

CAMD has finally received and has installed its super-conducting wiggler.  During this process, a unique opportunity presented itself for the Health Physics.  The wiggler arrived in the CAMD facility dis-assembled when it was shipped from Novosibirsk, Russia.  Though considerable preparation has gone into assessing the radiological hazards of this new insertion device, no evaluation of the self-shielding capacity of the wiggler was ever assessed.  It became obvious during the reassembly of the wiggler on-site, that for the Health Physicist, this was a unique event. Generally, calculations and evaluations are made based on the physics of the device without consideration of any potential self-shielding. This wiggler will have a maximum energy output of 85 keV at 0°. Although the self-shielding does not contribute substantially to radiation dose from gas bremsstrahlung, it does contribute significantly to the overall shielding profile for the device.

(More here)

Announcement: United States Particle Accelerator School

The USPAS wishes to announce its next session, January 20-31, 2014. Of particular interest to health physicists are:

·         Week one:  System Safety and Safety Systems for Accelerators

·         Week two:  Radiation Physics, Regulation and Management

The System Safety course has already been approved for 32 CE credits from the AAHP – we expect the same for the Radiation Physics course.  We will update the course outline when those credits are approved. Participation is open to both U.S. and non-U.S. residents.

(More here)

Subscribe or Update Your E-mail Address

If you wish to contact the editor of this newsletter click here